About The School :

Shillong Vidyalaya Secondary School was started in the Assam Kala – Parishad building in 1950. Late Hasibuddin Ahmed was the founder Headmaster of the school. The school was initially known as Assamese Boys’ School. Later, the name of the school has been changed to Shillong Vidyalaya and it was shifted to the present location (Bishnupur, East Khasi Hills District) in the year 1951. It was an Upper Primary School till 1960 and it was elevated to the Secondary level in 1961 and it was brought under deficit system on the 23rd March 1963. Since its inception, the school was only for the boys learners. However, in the year 2007, it was converted to a co – education institution. This School is also one of the centres for organising the Bihu programme during the month of April. The school also provides opportunity for organising some meetings for the local Dorbar Shnong. Some of the awareness programmes or other programmes too were being organised in this school from time to time by the local committees or local agencies.


School management is a process of leading the school towards development not only optimum use of the human resources, physical resources, principles and concepts that help in achieving all the objectives of the school but also the proper coordination and adjustment among them all . Here are some of the categories of management that help in coordinating for the smooth and towards-goal oriented of the school.

  • Teachers’ body
  • School Management Committee.
  • Academic & Cultural Committee.
  • Professional Learning Community
  • Disciplinary Maintaining Committee
  • Sanitation Committee
  • Hostel Management Committee
  • Extra Class Committee
  • Assisting Evening Study Committee
  • Controller of Examination Committee.
  • School – Community Coordinating Committee.
  • Safety Committee
  • Counselling Committee
School Mission Statement

To bring about the all round development of a child, the school is trying its best to find out the various loop holes that are existing in the school which can hamper the school’s and the child’s performance. Therefore, after various methodological staff meetings, we come to a unanimous decision, that is “striving to attain 100% pass percentage in SSLC MBOSE Examination” as a Mission Statement of the school for these academic years 2020 - 2023. The reason behind this decision is because after having evaluated and checked the pass percentage of our students in SSLC MBOSE Examinations in these last five years we had never managed to reach 100% pass percentage.

  • In the year 2015 – 2016 the pass percentage was 71%.
  • In the year 2016 – 2017 the pass percentage was 77%
  • In the year 2017 – 2018 the pass percentage was 80%
  • In the year 2018 – 2019 the pass percentage was 90%
  • In the year 2019 – 2020 the pass percentage was 71%

To execute this mission statement, so as to be able to attain the target goal, all the subject teachers are required to follow and implement the following action plans: -

  1. Regular extra classes for the class X students (to be fixed in the school routine)
  2. Regular remedial classes by all the subject teachers.
  3. Continuous motivation to the students by all the subject teachers.
  4. Methods of attempting the SSLC MBOSE Question papers.
  5. Provide more motivation and counseling.
  6. Conduct maximum activity in the classroom.
  7. Using advance teaching aids.
  8. Felicitating and rewarding the subject teacher
  1. (The mission statement of the school has really come to shape as the performance of the students has shot up in these following years. In the year 2020 – 2022, the pass percentage was 100%)
  2. The mission statement of the school keeps changing every 3 or 5 years as per the need and the situation demand.
School's Past Brilliant Result :

Many of the students of the school passed out with a flying colours in HSLC/SSLC Examination. Some of the toppers are as follows:

  • Madhujya P. Bezbaruah secured 6th position in 1974
  • Pratim Kumar Sarma secured 1st Position in 1978
  • Deepak Kr. Sharma secured secured 6th position in 1981
  • Jayanta Medhi secured 2nd position in 1994
  • Alokesh Haloi secured 1st position in 1996
  • Simanta Talukdar secured 3rd position in 1996
  • Saurav Kr. Haloi secured 1st position in 1998
  • Arup Kr. Bharali secured 2nd position in 1999